Welcome to Chard’s Travels!

Hello, and welcome Chard’s Travels!

If you’ve found this blog, chances are one of two things happened. Here they are, in order of likelihood:

  1. You are lost on the Internet. If that’s the case, click here to be rerouted back to Google!
  2. You’ve heard I’m moving (or, if you’re reading this after 8/17, I’ve moved) to Vietnam and want to see why/make sure I’m still alive/you’re my parents (hi Mom and Dad!).

As much as I would like to send everyone personalized notes and updates catered to your specific interests and passions, I have too much sitting-on-the-beach time set aside to add that in. So at the suggestion of many (read: my mother), this blog will serve as the hub of my updates as well as a log for my own personal reflection and memories.

This is the first blog I’ve ever had, and as such I wanted to lay down some ground rules and expectations both for me and for anyone who might waywardly stumble upon this website.

Here is what I promise I’ll do with this blog/while abroad:

  1. I will occasionally update it. I’m setting a goal of one entry per week. That way I’ll realistically update once every couple of weeks.
  2. I will write about different things. Like in America, I’m sure my day-to-day will become pretty routine; thus, I’m excited to write on cultural comparisons – food, drink, romance, (in the words of my  tour expectations spiel “Might throw some dating advice your way, so get excited for that!”), travel, work. If there’s something you’re curious about, let me know!
  3. Answer questions. Let me know what you want to know about Vietnam and I’ll do what I can to give my input (imagine that, me wanting to give input on something).

Here is what I don’t promise:

  1. I’ll update every week.
  2. I’ll keep it PG. I’ll preface any wild sections, but I have to tell it like it is! Keep the readers engaged. Some call me the Quentin Tarantino of our times.
  3. I will visit your “friend’s brother’s cousin’s neighbor who is in the Philippians, or is it Malaysia. I can get you some contact info!”

So welcome once again everyone. I hope you’re strapped in for what is sure to be a bumpy ride for all of us.

One thought on “Welcome to Chard’s Travels!

Leave a Reply

